Friday, July 31, 2015

New single and album announcement from Jonathan Bree

Jonathan Bree has released a new single ‘Once It Was Nice’.  

‘Once It Was Nice’ is the second single from an upcoming second album ‘ A Little Night Music’ which will be released on September 18 2015.  The music video is comprised of one shot on a carousel on Brighton Beach.

Roughly two years since his first solo album 2013’s Primrose Path, ‘A Little Night Music’ sees Bree taking a more free-form approach to his usually more rigid and pop-minded style.  This is partly due to a new interest in classical music, more specifically Russian Ballet suites.  'A Little Night Music' features a string quartet, and guest vocals by Auckland soprano Ella Smith. 

The first single from this album ‘Weird Hardcore’ surfaced last year with a creepy video made by Simon Ward.

Jonathan Brees new album ‘A Little Night Music’ is now available for digital pre-order - if you pre-order now you will get Once it Was Nice and Weird Hardcore instantly.

Friday, May 1, 2015

New Princess Chelsea album out now in NZ!

Princess Chelsea has begun a tour of her homeland and yesterday she appeared on the front page of the national newspaper:

Read the full article!

You can hear a new track, "Too Many People" from the latest album on the Gorilla vs Bear website.

The album is out now in New Zealand - get it from iTunes, Amplifier, Google Play, Spotify, or Rdio. Or buy a digital copy from anywhere in the world on Bandcamp or preorder LPs/CDs from Lil' Chief Records and Flying Out!

New Zealand will be paying further homage to her musical highness at shows in Christchurch (tonight at the Darkroom), Wellington on Saturday (at Moon 1) and Auckland on Sunday (at the Kings Arms). Tickets for these shows can be purchased at Undertheradar.

After that, Princess Chelsea will head to the northern hemisphere for more shows - full tour dates are here and are still being updated.

Tuesday, March 31, 2015

Princess Chelsea Announces New Album & Tour Dates

Lil' Chief Records and Flying Nun are pleased to announce the imminent release of Princess Chelsea's second album 'The Great Cybernetic Depression'.

Lil' Chief has teamed up with local buddies Flying Nun to release the album worldwide - in New Zealand on May 1, US and UK on June 8, and Europe on May 18th.

Chelsea has also revealed the buzzy cover-art by Brad Fafejta. Sources say the album sounds quite a lot how it looks aka 'buzzy'.

Chelsea and band will support the release by a full New Zealand tour followed by a European and US jaunt over the New Zealand winter.

New Zealand Shows:

Wed April 29 - Chicks Hotel, Dunedin w/ special guests
Thur April 30 - The Sherwood, Queenstown (door sales only)
Fri May 1 - Darkroom, Christchurch w/ special guests (free show)
Sat May 2 - Moon 1, Wellington w/ special guests
Sun May 3 - Kings Arms, Auckland w/ special guests

New Zealand presales are up now at Undertheradar.

Full tour dates are here and are still being updated.

Heres a video of the all of the allbums tracks being played simultaneously by Olly Harmer at the lab.


More to come soon...... but in the meantime lets all rewatch this trippy Simon Ward video for her  #1 student radio hit 'No Church on Sunday':

Wednesday, March 4, 2015

Cool Rainbows - Universe

Today we bring you Universe, the second single from Cool Rainbow's forthcoming album "Days"!

The music video is directed by Georgie Craw and Samuel Clyma.

Download via BandcampiTunes and Amplifier or stream with Spotify

Friday, February 27, 2015

The Eversons new video + tour dates

Witty five-piece The Eversons have teamed up with the rebellious film-makers at Candlelit Pictures to produce their next music video -Emily, directed by acclaimed duo THUNDERLIPS.  
This music video is a glam-rock musical set in our own fictitious version of the infamous dumpling restaurant on Auckland’s Dominion Road - New Flavor - it’s a musical comedy taken to the extreme, starring the band, two dancing dumplings and Go Girls/Step Dave/Flat 3 star JJ Fong as ‘Emily’.
“Emily is a song about being in love with New Zealand music. A tribute to Split Enz, Chris Knox, Phil Judd, Don McGlashan, Dave Dobbyn, all the greats. And even though they might piss you off sometimes, in the end you can’t help but love them all. It's also a song about finding yourself in one of those relationships, where you yell and fight but in the end you really love each other.” - Mark Turner (vocals, acoustic guitar - The Eversons)

The Eversons playing a handful of shows across the country to support Emily

Auckland, 7th March at Whammy Bar 

Palmerston North, 20th March at Great Job! (Radio Control presents!)

Wellington, 21st March at MOON

Christchurch, 10th April at Wunderbar 

Dunedin, 11th April at Chick’s Hotel (Radio One presents!)

Monday, February 16, 2015

The Eversons - Emily

Today we are excited to release 'Emily' the first single from the Eversons forthcoming sophomore album 'Stuck in New Zealand'

Mark Turner, lead singer of the Eversons says "Emily is a song about being in love with New Zealand music. A tribute to Split Enz, Chris Knox, Phil Judd, Don McGlashan, Dave Dobbyn, all the greats. And even though they might piss you off sometimes, in the end you can’t help but love them all."
Grab yourself a copy of the single via Bandcamp, iTunesAmplifier or Spotify 
Stay tuned for the official video and tour dates

Wednesday, November 19, 2014

Princess Chelsea Debuts New Single 'No Church On Sunday' via Stereogum

Some of the wait is finally over for Princess Chelsea fans. Eastern Europe is breathing a sigh of relief today as her new single 'No Church On Sunday' is premiered on Stereogum.

Princess Chelsea has teamed up with Mermaid Avenue / Mom + Pop Records to release We're So Lost and No Church on Sunday as singles in North America.

You can buy? No Church on Sunday here via Lil' Chief  

USA patrons may buy here via Mermaid Avenue

I hear a rumour theres a Simon Ward directed video on the way...and yes there will be a 7inch - more on that soon!